A motor vehicle can be a dangerous and extremely heavy projectile if it is driven by a driver who has impaired judgment and/or physical ability. This is a serious issue that the police in St. Petersburg take very seriously. An experienced St Pete DUI lawyer is necessary if you are facing charges.
Over 4,500 words are required to describe the different DUIs in Florida and the penalties. The DMV in Florida reported that there were 33,625 DUI convictions in 2011. There were over 3,000 DUI convictions in Hillsborough County in 2010 and another 1,824 in Pinellas County. An experienced St. Pete DUI lawyer can help you formulate a defense strategy if you are arrested for DUI. Okoye Morgan Jr of The Black Law Company is a respected criminal defense lawyer who aims to protect his clients’ future in St. Petersburg.
DUI is considered in Florida for drunk and drugged driving. Driving under the influence is when you operate a vehicle while being impaired by any one of the following:
This law establishes a system that takes into account your previous DUIs, your BAL, whether you had a minor in your car, and whether you caused injury or death by impaired driving. Your penalty may include:
For DUI convictions in Florida, “ignition interlock” devices are also used. These devices, which require that the driver periodically inhale into them, record the BAL every time, and transmit the data to the Department of Motor Vehicles, can be installed by the judge at his discretion. They are mandatory after a second conviction.
A DUI conviction can be upgraded to a first-degree felony if you injure or kill someone while driving impaired. The first-degree felony penalties can be up to 30 years of imprisonment if the circumstances meet the criteria for DUI manslaughter and vehicular homicide.
St. Pete DUI lawyer may be able to challenge the validity or probable cause of the initial police stop.
Although breath and blood testing sound very reliable and scientific, it is not always the case. You can contest the accuracy of the breathalyzer and the experience of the officer administering it.
When defending a DUI, speed, and experience are important.
DUI defense lawyers should be available as soon as possible due to the severe penalties. Drivers with commercial licenses can face serious consequences, as can drivers operating commercial vehicles at the time of the DUI arrest.
You also have a practical reason to seek legal assistance quickly. The suspension of your license takes effect immediately, and you have ten days to request an administrative appeal. Your St. Petersburg DUI lawyer can help you defend the basic DUI charge. You may be granted extended driving privileges while you wait for the hearing. This hearing could have a significant impact on the outcome of your case.
If you’ve been charged with DUI, don’t hesitate to contact us immediately. Contact the law offices of Okoye Morgan Jr for aggressive DUI defense from a St. Petersburg and West Central Florida coast attorney with over 20 years of experience.
Pinellas County was home to St. Petersburg, and there were 3,336 DUI violations in 2015. Drivers often don’t challenge DUI charges. They do not realize that long-term consequences may result and that convictions can lead to a criminal record. If you are convicted of DUI, you could face severe penalties. Florida has an implied consent law that requires you to sign your driver’s license and agree to submit to chemical tests to determine your blood alcohol level upon request from a law enforcement officer. You should not assume you will be convicted just because you consented to a BAC test. The Black Law Company in St. Petersburg is a DUI lawyer who protects rights and can assess your case to develop a defense strategy.
Florida Statute Section 36.193 allows you to be convicted of DUI if you prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving in Florida or have physical control of one. You can also be convicted if you are under the influence of alcohol or certain chemical substances, or if your BAC is less than.08.You can be convicted of drunk driving if you have a blood alcohol level or breath alcohol content of at least 0.08.
Most cases involving a first DUI conviction are misdemeanors. You could face a $500-$1,000 penalty and a maximum of six months imprisonment. You may not end up in jail, but you will be given probation.
A second conviction will result in increased penalties. You will also be subject to additional jail time and increased fines. This device will cost you money.
A third DUI within 10 years of a previous conviction will result in significantly higher penalties. This is a third-degree felony, similar to a drug crime or a more serious offense. You could face five years imprisonment and a $5,000 penalty. The court will also order that an ignition interlock device be installed for at least two years. A third DUI occurring after the 10-year lookback period could result in a $2,000-$5,000 fine and a sentence of at least 12 months imprisonment. There will also be a two-year period during which an ignition interlock must be installed. If you’re facing a third DUI offense, it is important to consult a St. Petersburg DUI attorney immediately.
A fourth DUI or more is considered a third-degree felony. A minimum $2,000 fine will be imposed, and an ignition interlock device must be installed.
A third-degree felony can be committed if your DUI results in serious bodily injury to another person. DUI manslaughter can be filed if the DUI causes the death of another person or an unborn child. This is a second-degree felony. It can also be charged as a second-degree felony in hit-and-run situations if the driver knew or should have known about the crash but didn’t stop to give information. A DUI manslaughter conviction will result in a minimum four-year sentence from the court. A St. Petersburg DUI lawyer can help you reduce the penalties by telling your side of the story.
If your DUI results in a BAC of.15 or more, or if you have a minor in the vehicle, you could be subject to a $1,000-$2,000 penalty plus nine months’ imprisonment for a first conviction. For a second conviction, you will face a $2,000–$4,000 fine and 12 months of imprisonment. You can also be subject to harsher penalties.
A substance abuse course may be required. You will also have to complete probation. The probationary period requires that you do community service or work in the public sector. You can also have your car impounded or immobilized.
It is possible to be convicted and it is not inevitable. Other cases may involve issues with the laboratory that processed your chemical test or concerns about the credibility of the officer.
If you or someone you care about has been charged with a St. Pete DUI lawyer, don’t hesitate to contact The Black Law Company for expert legal representation. Our team of experienced DUI lawyers will work tirelessly to defend your rights and fight for the best possible outcome in your case. With a strong track record of success in DUI cases, The Black Law Company is the go-to choice for legal assistance in St. Pete. Don’t face the legal system alone. Call us today and let us help you navigate the complicated world of DUI law in St. Pete.